It is always wise to create a copy or save important files on your website before making any changes that may affect its layout and performance. You would not want to accidentally delete any files or distort the appearance of your site without having any means of recovering it. Fortunately, the cPanel backup tool provides us with an easy and convenient way to perform the necessary backup that we need to keep our data and files secure and protected.
To perform a full cPanel backup of your website, just follow the simple steps given below.
Step 1: Login to your cPanel account.
Step 2: In the cPanel homepage, click the “Backup” icon located under the “Files” section.
Step 3: After clicking the Backup Icon, you will be directed to the Backup Menu interface page.
Step 4: In the Backup Menu interface page, you will find two selections: The Full Backup and the Partial Backup options.
Step 5: Select the Full Backup option by clicking the “Generate a Full Web Site Backup” button.
Note: Some web hosting sites do not allow you to create a backup of your site on the server, so instead of having a “Generate a Full Web Site Backup” button you will see a “Download a Full Web Site Backup” button.
Step 6: After clicking the “Generate a Full Web Site Backup” button, you will see a page containing two sections: The “Backup Available for Download” section and the “Generate a Full Backup” section.
Step 7: Under the Generate a Full Backup section, select “Home Directory” in the Backup destination field.
Step 8: Enter the email address where you want the report of the backup process to be sent in the email address field provided.
Note: If you prefer not to receive any email reports, you can click on the “Do not send email notification of backup completion” radio button located below the email address field.
Step 9: Click on the “Generate Backup” button to start the Backup process.
You will successfully create a Full backup of your site after completing all the steps indicated above.
You can use the cPanel backup that you have created whenever your files are accidentally deleted or when you want to revert back to your original site settings and files when you are performing updates on your website.